Suggestion box!

Something different, humble readers! The beautiful wife is just about to hit the two-thirds mark in her pregnancy, and man o man has that belly popped! I can’t wait to meet the little jellybean. I’ve already started to read to my child. Books were such a big part of my childhood, so I’d love them to be there for him/her too. (Forgive the awkward phrasing here; I really want to mention the gender but some people reading this blog have explicitly asked not to know, so I’m desperately dancing around pronouns).

Problem is, most of my own books aren’t fit reading material for the bubba. I’ve already exhausted my library of kid’s books. And my library, I mean two or three. The Wolves in the Walls, by Neil Gaiman and Dave McKean, was first cab off the rank, followed a week later by The Day I Swapped My Dad For Two Goldfish by the same gents. Jellybean seemed to like them, but that was all I had. I dug around in my collection and found another book, a Chinese tale of Old Man Wind printed back in the 1960s that I’d read as a child, but it hadn’t aged well. It had dying parents, letting strangers into the house and lots of inappropriate sitting on weird old men’s laps. A simpler time, perhaps.

So, I’m up for suggestions to build baby’s library. The Hungry Caterpillar will undoubtedly make an appearance, and I remember Barbapapa books fondly. Oh, and of course Tikki Tikki Tembo-no Sa Rembo-chari Bari Ruchi-pip Peri Pembo (which is, I’ve now found out, apparently culturally insensitive and demeaning – but, hey ho, different age etc.). Any other thoughts?

3 thoughts on “Suggestion box!

  1. Aaargh, I just wrote a post full of recommendations and lost it. I’ll try again, hopefully I remember all my brilliant suggestions.

    Firstly, I have a box full of Enid Blytons from my sister and my childhood that you are welcome to borrow and have a look through. Just be warned if you find some favourites and buy them, recent editions have been updated and politically corrected (sad face).

    Everyone goes on about Narnia but I was obsessed with the Chronicles of Prydain when I was about 11, and still own those also. You’re welcome to borrow to read to jellybean bump (oh, and Harry Potter books too).

    Do you remember the series of stamps when we were kids that were all awesome Australian children’s books? Snugglepot and Cuddlepie (highly recommend), Blinky Bill (highly recommend), The Magic Pudding (it’s okay, I preferred my illustrated copy as a kid because Norman Lindsay was a much more fantastic illustrator than writer) and Ginger Meggs (I liked it as a kid but can’t really remember it).

    Lastly, do some Googling to find a list of Children’s Book Award winners over the years. If you find the lists from the ’80s it might spark some recognition of some picture books you loved as a kid and want to get for your bubby.

  2. Thanks all 🙂 Also, found out from a Neil Gaiman Q&A on Friday night that he’s writing a book about a sneezing baby panda written for 2-year-olds, so by the time he gets that published it’ll probably be about time for little jellybean to learn about “Choo’s Day”.

Leave a Reply

